Newcomer Toya boosts street-cred

Cape Times

Arts writer

Tell a friend
ON A ROLL: Toya Delazy scoops MTN Sama Awards.11 May 2013 - Sun City - the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards  - Millions of viewers tuned into SABC 1 and witnessed the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards as Toya Delazy and Khuli Chana dominated the evening taking home 3 awards each at the Sun City Superbowl on Saturday, 11 May 2013. Khuli Chana performing.
Picture Thys DullaartSHOWSTOPPER: The cherry on top - Lira.

FOR Toya Delazy, who launched the 19th Annual MTN South African Music Awards alongside rapper Reason on Saturday night, her awards for newcomer of the year and best pop album go a long way to increase her street-cred in the industry after a breakout year in 2012 with her debut, Due Drop Deluxe. Jax Panix also managed to scoop the best producer award on Friday for his work on Toya’s album.

The glam music festivities at the Sun City Superbowl also saw Khuli Chana in the limelight after years of hard work finally paid off for the former Motswako protégé when he took home three awards – coveted best male artist, best rap album and album of the year awards.

Popular Afro-fusion act Freshlyground scooped what must be fast becoming a familiar statuette for duo or group of the year, further cementing their place as music royalty on home turf.

Meanwhile the fiercely contested female artist of the year award saw songbird Kelly Khumalo beat off stiff competition from a very talented field.

The almost three-hour long show also saw some iconic collaborations from Zonke and Kabomo, ChianoSky with DJ Zinhle featuring Busiswa, Bobby van Jaarsveld with Oskido featuring Candy, Zozo and Sangere Superbeat, Desmond & The Tutus with Kabelo, Professor, Sfiso and Khaya featuring Proverb, Donald, Lira; and crowd pleasers DJ Vetkuk and Mahoota featuring Dr Malinga and Manqoba.

Guest presenters who handed out awards included the familiar faces of Rapulana Seiphemo, Tsholo Monedi, Gareth Cliff, Zahara, Loyiso Bala, Tailor, Pearl Thusi, Tumi Morake, Theo Kgosinkwe, Nhlanhla Nciza, Zolisa Xaluva, Glen Lewis, Tumi Morake, Greg Carlin and Thami Mgqolo.

A tribute to deceased industry players was performed by Bongeziwe Mabandla, Nina Schumann, Steve Dyer, Herbie Tsoaeli and CH2 over a visual montage of the fallen icons.

The album of the year medley was one of the major highlights of the star-studded night as Khuli Chana, Kelly Khumalo, Maleh, Ntokozo Mbambo and The Muffinz took to the stage to the delight of the 5 000-strong crowd .

It was then left to the popular Menzi Ngubane and Sophie Ndaba to close off the night and present the coveted album of the year to a surprised Khuli Chana.

l See or for an all-access pass to the event, see

Tell a friend