Rooiland’s top, Rocky Horror’s hot at awards


PRISON gang drama Rooiland won five awards at the 49th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards on Sunday night.

Brendon Daniels won the award for best lead actor in a play and Charlton George that for best supporting actor.

Share this story
Brendon Daniels- winner Best Lead Actor in a Play, for his  role as Adidas in RooilandFrom left, Andrew Laubscher (Riff Raff), Brendon van Rhyn (Frank N Furter) and Paul du Toit (Brad) in The Rocky Horror Show, which won three awards.

Jaco Bouwer, the director, won for best lighting design and best director, and Tertius Kapp for best new South African script.

The Rocky Horror Show received three awards: Brendon van Rhyn won the award for best lead actor in a musical, Andrew Laubscher that for best supporting actor in a musical, and Daneel van der Walt for best supporting actress in a musical

Jennifer Steyn won the award for best lead actress in a play for her searing portrayal of Flora “Sissy” Goforth in The Milk Train Doesn’t Stop Here Anymore, and Angela Kilian that for best lead actress in a musical for her performance as Norma Desmond in Sunset Boulevard.

Patricia Boyer won best supporting actress in a play and Sarah Robert best costume design for The Miser, a comedy directed by Sylvaine Strike.

Capetonian Nicholas Ellenbogen, who has opened the Rosebank Theatre with his wife and Theatre for Africa co-founder, Liz, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Phillip Dikotla won the award for best performance in a one-person show for his debut play, Skierlik, which came to the attention of Capetonian audiences as the best production at last year’s Zabalaza Theatre Festival.

Craig Leo won for best set design for Voices Made Night, James Webb for best sound design for Die Laaste Karretjiegraf, and Janni Younge for best puppetry design for Sadako.

Penelope Youngleson of the Rust Co-operative won the Rosalie van der Gucht Prize for new directors, and Dean John Smith of the University of Stellenbosch was judged the most promising student.

RSG Radio Kunstefees – the first local arts festival held on radio – was honoured for innovation in theatre.

The ceremony took place at the Baxter Theatre. The onstage entertainment followed a street vibe theme. It was directed by Lara Bye and featured Dorothy Masuka, accompanied by guitarist Bheki Khoza, the Cape Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, the Ubuntu B-Boys, and dancers choreographed by the former artistic director of Jazzart, Jackie Manyaapelo.

The MCs were Alan Committie and Africa Melane.

Each Fleur du Cap Theatre Award is valued at R15 000 and is accompanied by a silver medallion.

The judges were Melane, Coreen Lloyd, Dr Beverley Brommert, Dr Gabriël Botma, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Jill Markram, Len Ashton, Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Rone Arendse, Johan van Lill, Eugene Yiga and Tracey Saunders. - Cape Argus

Share this story