Celebrities to drive classic Jaguars

Comment on this story
IOL mot pic may13 Alex Buncombe and Norman Dewis . Alex Buncombe, driving, and Norman Dewis in the ex-Juan Manuel Fangio C-Type Buncombe will drive in this year's Mille Miglia classic-car tour.

Jaguar has put together a special team of celebrity drivers for this year's Mille Miglia classic car tour. Taking the seats of a six-car line-up of three C-Types and three XK120's will be six-times Olympic cycling champion Sir Chris Hoy, global supermodel David Gandy, Le Mans 24 Hours race winner Andy Wallace, 20th Century Fox boss Jim Gianopulos, German actress Hannah Herzsprung, Italian Salvatore Ferragamo Jr., fashion icon Yasmin Le Bon and Michael Quinn, the grandson of Jaguar founder Sir William Lyons.

This group of classic-car enthusiasts will be led by Jaguar's multiple classic race winner Alex Buncombe and motoring journalist Chris Harris, who will drive the 1600km tour in a C-Type once owned by former Formula 1 champion Juan Manuel Fangio.

The Mille Miglia is the pinnacle of classic motorsport, and the 1952 race saw disc brakes being used in competion for the first time on a C-Type crewed by Jaguar’s then chief development engineer Norman Dewis and Formula One driver Stirling Moss.

Dewis was with some of the 2013 team at the Goodwood circuit this week for a driver training session - check out the video below.

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines