F1 to award pole position trophy

Comment on this story

IOL mot pic dec13 F1 Vettel Burnout


Sebastian Vettel, seen here doing his signature burnout after the Brazilian GP, would have won the award in four of the past five seasons. Picture: Clive Mason

Formula One will award a pole position trophy next year to the driver who qualifies fastest the most times during the season.

The 2014 sporting regulations published on Thursday by the governing International Automobile Federation, stipulate that in the event of a tie the holder of the most second places would win, with a further countback until a winner emerges.

“If this procedure fails to produce a result, the FIA will nominate the winner according to such criteria as it thinks fit,” the regulations state.

Red Bull's quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel would have won the award in four of the past five seasons.

The FIA also wrote a penalty points system into the regulations, which will see drivers handed a race ban if they accumulate 12 points in a year.

“Penalty points will remain on a driver's Super Licence for a period of 12 months after which they will be respectively removed on the 12-month anniversary of their imposition,” it said.

Driver numbers, to be chosen by the competitors and kept for the duration of their Formula One career, will have to be clearly visible on helmets and the front of cars. - Reuters

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.


Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks

Business Directory