Hamilton enjoys 'stroll in the park' Canada win


Lewis Hamilton admitted he enjoyed a 'stroll in the park' and had time to reflect on memories of earlier successes as he raced to victory for Mercedes in Sunday's Canadian Grand Prix.

The three-time champion cruised home around 20 seconds ahead of his team-mate Valtteri Bottas as the Mercedes team bounced back from its desultory showing at last month's Monaco Grand Prix with its first one-two this year.

Tell a friend
Lewis Hamilton won his sixth Canadian Grand Prix on Sunday. Picture: Chris Wattie / Reuters.

"I feel so relaxed now," said the Briton. "It's been an amazing weekend for me and I feel very grateful now that the day is done. I actually feel like jumping in the lake!

"You always need weekends like this and for me there was a lot of time to think, when I was up front, reliving memories from 2007 and several other years here.

"I was really able to enjoy the moment and the car and the crowd, the weather was fantastic, even if it was a bit gusty and you still had to concentrate –- it was a challenge and it was well-managed.

"Montreal has been so good to me all these years. It is like a go-kart track and so it takes me back to my roots."

Hamilton's third win of the season, his sixth in Montreal and the 56th of his career, helped him reduce championship leader Sebastian Vettel's advantage to 12 points.

"I had my first pole here, I had my first win here 10 years ago – so to repeat it this weekend is incredibly special," added Hamilton.

German Vettel finished fourth after his Ferrari suffered a damaged front wing in a collision on the opening lap when he was passed by the aggressive Dutch teenager Max Verstappen of Red Bull.

Four-time champion Vettel now has 141 points, Hamilton has 129 and Finn Bottas 93.

Verstappen, who rose from fifth to second at the start, had to retire after 11 laps with electrical problems. His Red Bull team-mate Daniel Ricciardo finished third. -AFP

Canadian Grand Prix Results:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:33:05.154 

2. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes +00:19.783 

3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 00:35.297 

4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 00:35.907 

5. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 00:40.476 

6. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India – Mercedes 00:40.716 

7. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 00:58.632 

8. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 01:00.374 

9. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes 1 lap 

10. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari 1 lap 

11. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1 lap 

12. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas – Ferrari 1 lap 

13. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap 

14. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1 lap 

15. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 2 laps 

16r. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 4 laps 

r. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault 15 laps 

r. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 60 laps 

r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 70 laps 

r. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 70 laps 

Fastest Lap:

Lewis Hamilton,1:14.551, lap 64.

Driver Standings

1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari - 141 

2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes - 129 

3. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes - 93 

4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari - 73 

5. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - 67 

6. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull - 45 

7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - 44 

8. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India - 27 

9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso - 25 

10. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams - 20 

11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault - 18 

12. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas - 10 

13. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas - 

14. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber 4 

15. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - 

16. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams - 

17. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault - 

18. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber - 

19. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren - 

20. Antonio Giovinazzi (Italy) Sauber - 

21. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren - 

Constructors Points 

1. Mercedes - 222 

2. Ferrari - 214 

3. Red Bull – TAG Heuer - 112 

4. Force India – Mercedes - 71 

5. Toro Rosso – Renault - 29 

6. Williams-Mercedes - 22 

7. Renault - 18 

8. Haas – Ferrari - 15 

9. Sauber – Ferrari - 

10. McLaren - 0

Tell a friend