Hamilton wins Chinese Grand Prix

Comment on this story
iol spt apr20 Hamilton-China GP Reuters Lewis Hamilton completed a hat-trick of wins by leading a dominant Mercedes one-two in the Chinese Formula One Grand Prix. Photo by: Carlos Barria/Reuters

Shanghai - Lewis Hamilton completed a hat-trick of wins by leading a dominant Mercedes one-two in the Chinese Formula One Grand Prix on Sunday.

German team mate Nico Rosberg took the chequered flag 18 seconds behind the Briton to finish runner-up for the third race in a row but retaining the overall lead in the championship, four points ahead of Hamilton.

“I just can't believe how amazing the car is,” said Hamilton, who led from pole and punched the air with both fists after parking up and leaping out. “I was just really racing myself.

“This team is on a roll, that's for sure.”

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, last year's winner in Shanghai, finished third - his first podium of the year - in his team's first race under new principal Marco Mattiacci and ahead of Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo.

The victory was the 25th of Hamilton's career, pulling him level with Niki Lauda and the late Jim Clark in the all-time list of winners, and the first time the 2008 champion had won three races in a row.

Rosberg, the winner of the season-opener in Australia, now has 79 points after four races, with Hamilton on 75 and Alonso third on 41.

Mercedes have 154 points to Red Bull's 57.


Red Bull's four times world champion Sebastian Vettel, who was asked to move aside for his faster Australian team-mate for the second race in a row, was fifth.

Germany's Nico Hulkenberg was sixth for Force India, with Valtteri Bottas seventh for Williams despite making contact with Rosberg at the start.

His Brazilian team mate Felipe Massa had a nightmare, however, stuck in the pits for a minute as Williams struggled to change a rear left tyre.

Kimi Raikkonen was eighth for Ferrari with Mexican Sergio Perez ninth for Force India and Russian rookie Daniil Kvyat 10th for Toro Rosso.

Driver and constructor standings after the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix at Shanghai International Circuit on Sunday


Drivers Points


1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 79


2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 75


3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 41


4. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 36


5. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 33


6. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 24


7. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 24


8. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 23


9. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 20


10. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 18


11. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 12


12. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 11


13. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 4


14. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 4


15. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 0


16. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber 0


17. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 0


18. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0


19. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham 0


20. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus 0


21. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham 0


22. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0


Constructors Points


1. Mercedes 154


2. RedBull - Renault 57


3. Force India - Mercedes 54


4. Ferrari 52


5. McLaren 43


6. Williams-Mercedes 36


7. Toro Rosso - Renault 8


8. Lotus - Renault 0


9. Sauber - Ferrari 0


10. Marussia - Ferrari 0


11. Caterham - Renault 0 – Reuters

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines