Webber wins British GP

Comment on this story
Webber_Silverstone REUTERS Red Bull's Mark Webber of Australia passes the chequered flag to win the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Silverstone, United Kingdom – Mark Webber nipped past long-time leader Fernando Alonso in the closing stages to win the British Grand Prix here on Sunday.

The Australian's Red Bull teammate Sebastian Vettel took third with Alonso's fellow Ferrari driver Felipe Massa in fourth.

Webber, who set off alongside pole sitter Alonso on the front row, won the British Grand Prix for the second time in three years and he became the second repeat winner of an unpredictable season.

This was Red Bull's third win at Silverstone in the past four years.

“Great day for us and a great day for me,” he said over the team radio.

Alonso maintained the lead in the drivers standings.


1. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:25:11.288

2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari +00:03.060

3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 00:04.836

4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:09.519

5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 00:10.314

6. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 00:17.101

7. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 00:29.153

8. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 00:36.463

9. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams - Renault 00:43.347

10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:44.444

11. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber - Ferrari 00:45.370

12. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 00:47.856

13. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 00:51.241

14. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 00:53.313

15. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:57.394

16. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 1 lap

17. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham - Renault 1 lap

18. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia - Cosworth 1 lap

19. Charles Pic (France) Marussia - Cosworth 1 lap

20. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT - Cosworth 2 laps

21. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT - Cosworth 2 laps

r. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 41 laps

r. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 50 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Fastest Lap: Kimi Räikkönen,1:34.661, lap 50. – Sapa-AFP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines