Huge crashes at Phakisa Pro Tour


The Pro Tour national racing circus came to the Free State’s Phakisa Raceway for the second time on Saturday, with all five of its participating categories in action.


Tell a friend
Vernon Bricknell leads the first sports-car race in his Porsche 993 GT2. He wrote the car off while leading Race 2.Piter de Vos led Race 1 of the ZX-10R Masters until Stewart MacLeod, who didn't qualify and had to start from the back of the grid, sliced through the fierld and normal service was resumed.Carlos Nobre, at right in the red Digit Golf, about to go round the outside to take the lead in the Goldwagen Challenge.Jacques Viljoen and his Porsche 911 Carrera took a fine third in the GT Classic Class.

Heading up proceedings were two 30-minute GT Challenge and GT Classic sports car races. The first of these was won overall by Vernon Bricknell (Porsche 993 GT2), ahead of Andrew Culbert (Porsche GT3 Cup), Deon du Plessis (KTM X-Bow) and Sun Moodley (Porsche GT3 Cup).

Charl Arangies (Ferrari 360) won the GTC3 class from Nicky Dicks (Porsche 911).

The GT Classic category went to Andrie Bester (Porsche 911 SC), who led home Willem van der Westhuizen (Porsche 911 RSR) and George Avvakoumides (Porsche 911).

Bricknell was leading Race 2 when his charge came to a premature end as he ran slightly wide and put a wheel into the dirt coming on to the pit straight. The Porsche swerved sharply left, ploughed into the pit wall at about 170km/h and came to rest about 60 metres farther. The race was red-flagged and Bricknell rescued from the wreckage. He complained of a sore neck, and was taken to the Welkom hospital for observation.

According to motorsport red-flag rules, the lap position before such a crash determines the finishing order. This meant that Bricknell still won the race, ahead of Culbert, Du Plessis and Sun Moodley.

Andrie Bester again took the GT Classic category from George Avvakoumides and Jacques Viljoen (Porsche 911 Carrera).


Stewart Macleod had problems during the qualifying session and had to start from the back of the grid. He scythed through the field in five laps, took the lead on the sixth, and went on to win, followed by Pieter de Vos, Brian Bontekoning, Joe Shearer and Tony Klem.

Kyle Robinson stepped off his ZX10R at about 150km/h in Turn 2 and was taken to hospital with a broken collar bone, plus multiple rib fractures.

Starting from the front row this time, Macleod won Race 2 as well, leading home de Vos, Bontekoning, Klem and Paul Jacobs.


Youngster Scott Temple won the first Formula Vee race with ease in his Rhema, setting a new lap record in the process. He was chased to the flag by Jaco Schriks (Rhema), Greg Wilson (Rhema) and Johan Gouws (Mantis).

Temple repeated his winning feat in Race 2, but this time he had to work for it, finishing just ahead of his team mate Wilson, Schriks and Peter Hills (Rhema).


These races again provided both the day’s largest field of entries and a lot of spectacle, with 12 cars having to be rescued from the kitty litter at variuos places around the circuit after Saturday’s second race.

Avoiding the carnage, Carlos Nobre (Golf 1) took the overall Class A win ahead of Keagan Blanckensee (Golf 4) and Gavin Ross ( Golf 1).

Darren Nathan (Polo) won Class B from Elna Croeser (Golf 1) and Stuart Mack (Golf 1).

Class C honours went to Wouter Roos (Polo), leading in Andre’ Needham (Golf) and Elke van Vledder (Golf).

James Hurley (Golf) won Class D, followed by Devon Piazza-Musso (Golf) and Brad Hall (Golf).

The next round of the Pro Tour will be run at the Zwartkop circuit on Saturday 13 October.

Tell a friend