Sizzling start to Super Series racing


New championship hopefuls got their 2013 title chases off the ground, when Kyalami hosted the opening National Super Series round under a sweltering sun on Saturday.


Tell a friend
Johan Fourie shared the Production Car spoils with Michael Stephen and Graeme Nathan.Reigning V8 Supercar champ Ben Morgenrood took two victories in his new Mustang.

The strongest field on the day comprised 26 Polo Vivos in the one-make Engen Volkswagen Cup category. Race one saw a debut victory for teenager Jeffrey Kruger (Indy Oil) who edged out Kosie Weyers (Engen Primax) and Dewald Brummer (UMP/Horne/Mad Racing). Kruger then only managed eighth place in race two with the win going to Weyers closely followed by Brummer and Mark Silverwood (OKI Printing Solutions/Q8Oil).

The Star Motoring's Jesse Adams finished third in the series' Masters class for drivers older than 28, behind Eddie Rodrigues (SEW Eurodrive) and Juan Gerber (


Reigning champions Michael Stephen (Class A Engen Audi) and Graeme Nathan (Class T Indyoil Golf GTI) started their Bridgestone Production Car title defenses in the best possible way, each taking a win, a second, and a third in a trio of races. Johan Fourie (Afrox BMW) took overall victory in the final 12-lap event.


Reigning V8 Supercar Champion Ben Morgenrood (Indy Oil Ford Mustang) took two victories in the newly established SA Sport and GT Series, which is an amalgamation of V8s and Shelby Can-Ams. Ben led home Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar XKR) and Roelf du Plessis (Hi-Q Chevy Corvette) in race one, with Larry Wilford (Fuchs Lubricants Ford Falcon) and Ray Wilford (Fuchs Lubricants Chevy Corvette) following the veteran from Randfontein home in race two.


The Shelby Can-Am series produced race wins for reigning champ Rui Campos (Q8Oil) and Andrew Strike (Strike 1 Racing). The Shelby Can-Ams also sport a new body style for the 2013 season.


In Formula Volkswagen, pole sitter Robert Wolk (Midas/Investchem VW) retired from heat 1 on the very first lap with clutch failure. Nicholas van Weely (Anglo Rand) then went on to dominate and win his first race, ahead of 2013 rookies Christopher Shorter (Etana VW) and last year's Midas F1600 champion Werner Scholtz (Motorvia VW).

Wolk then made amends by winning heat two from Van Wheely and Scholtz. James Temple won the first Midas F1600 race, and Jason Campos won the second.


A delighted Clinton Seller (Portable Shade Kawasaki ZX10) took the season's first Superbike victory, leading home Chris Leeson (Motorrad BMW S1000 RR), and Nicholas Grobler (Pta North Kawasaki ZX10R). The second race saw Leeson and Seller engage in full-time war, eventually diving through corners side by side, but in the end the results were the same as heat one.

Cam Petersen gave newcomers to the 600cc Supersport category, MV Agusta, a dream start to the season by claiming pole position and both race wins. Behind him in both races were Lance Isaacs (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki ZX6R) and MV team-mate Brent Harran.

Tell a friend