ANC candidate list submitted to IEC

Comment on this story
IOL  ANC NEC mantashe

Pretoria - The ANC submitted its list of candidates for Parliament and provincial legislatures to the IEC on Tuesday, secretary general Gwede Mantashe said.

“We are comfortable (with the list) ... we looked through it carefully,” he told reporters in Centurion.

Mantashe said the African National Congress national list committee was ready to respond to any issues the Independent Electoral Commission might raise.

The deadline for political parties to submit their lists ahead of the national elections is Wednesday at 5pm.

The top 10 names on the ANC's list are:

* Jacob Zuma

* Cyril Ramaphosa

* Malusi Gigaba

* Naledi Pandor

* Jeff Radebe

* Fikile Mbalula

* Blade Nzimande

* Bathabile Dlamini

* Lindiwe Sisulu

* Collins Chabane


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines