Axed ministers to chair committees

Parliament - Four axed Cabinet ministers will chair portfolio committees in the new Parliament, the African National Congress revealed on Thursday.

Paul Mashatile has been nominated to chair the standing committee on appropriations after being dropped from President Jacob Zuma's Cabinet.

File photo: Matthew Jordaan. Credit: Independent Newspapers

Mashatile served as arts and culture minister from 2010 to 2014, a portfolio now occupied by Nathi Mthethwa.

Former communications minister Yunus Carrim was nominated chairman of Parliament's finance committee.

Carrim, an MP since 1994, served as chairman of various committees before his Cabinet appointment, including the justice committee which saw to the demise of the Scorpions in 2008.

Connie September, who served less than a year as human settlements minister before being axed from Zuma's Cabinet, will chair the state security committee.

Ben Martins, also in his 20th year as an ANC MP in Parliament, returns as public works committee chairman.

Before being dropped from Zuma's Cabinet, Martins served as home affairs committee chairman, deputy public enterprises minister, transport minister and energy minister - a post he held since July last year before also being dropped from the new Cabinet.

Another former minister in ex-president Thabo Mbeki's Cabinet, Thoko Didiza, is expected to become a house chairwoman.

The full list of MPs named on Thursday are:

The nominated chairs will be formally elected once the committees sit for the first time.

The nominations for house chairs are: Cedric Frolick, Thoko Didiza and Mmatlala Boroto.

Didiza will also join Motshekga, Magadzi and Edwin Makue of the National Council of Provinces as members of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Pallo Jordan, Thandi Memela and Litho Suka are the MPs chosen to serve on the Pan African Parliament.

The ANC caucus chairman is Seiso Mahai.