Motlanthe declines NEC nomination

Comment on this story
iol news pic Mangaung-Motlanthe leaves NewsFire Kgalema Motlanthe leaves the ANC National Conference afer being beaten by President Jacob Zuma in the election race. Motlanthe has declined nomination to the ANC's national executive committee. Photo Greg Nicolson/NewsFire

Bloemfontein - A string of high-profile ANC members, including Deputy President  Kgalema Motlanthe, declined nomination for the national executive committee on Tuesday.

Others who said no included presidential spokesman Mac Maharaj, Minister in the Presidency Trevor Manuel, Northern Cape African National Congress chairman John Block, and struggle stalwart Jay Naidoo.

Congress of SA Trade Unions general secretary Zwelinzima Vavi, National Union of Metalworkers of SA general secretary Irvin Jim and National Union of Mineworkers general secretary Frans Baleni did not accept nomination.

Free State ANC chairman Ace Magashule also declined. - Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines