The ANC’s election list of shame


Johannesburg - The ANC’s national candidate list includes a disgraced cabinet minister, a former minister and two former MECs. It also includes a shamed former consul-general and two former senior leaders of the ANC Youth League facing multimillion-rand fraud charges.

Tell a friend
Axed minister of communications Dina Pule. Photo: Simphiwe Mbokazi668
Former National Youth Development Agency Andile Lungisa and her other 3 accused Ursula Sali, Thabo Shogole and Xolisa Guqaza appear before the magistrate at the Commercial Court in account of fraud.
Picture: Tiro Ramatlhatse

Dina Pule (70)

Axed minister of communications Dina Pule tops the list of disgraced ANC politicians who made it to the ruling party’s national candidate list of those destined for the National Assembly.

She was publicly reprimanded, fined and forced to apologise by Parliament for her role in the Information Communication Technology Indaba scandal.

Her castigation followed an adverse report by Public Protector Thuli Madonsela, who implicated her in the scandal involving the channelling of millions of rand in contracts and state resources to her boyfriend, Phosane Mngqibisa, during the event. Pule is listed as number 70 on the ruling party’s national candidate list submitted to the IEC yesterday.

Bathabile Dlamini (8)

The Social “Development Minister was sentenced to a fine of R120 000 or five years imprisonment after she pleaded guilty to a count of fraud in “Travelgate”. The scandal involved MPs unlawfully using travel vouchers to fund private holidays and trips. Dlamini was found guilty of misusing R254 000 in irregular service benefits and mileage claims.

Andile Lungisa (147)

The former National Youth Development Agency head is standing trial on a charge of corruption in the Johannesburg Commercial Crimes Court.

He and his wife, Ursula Sali, and two other officials are accused of accepting and sharing among themselves R2.5 million paid by the Arts and Culture Department for the Nelson Mandela Sports Day concert last year. They allegedly promised that US singer R Kelly would perform at the concert, but he did not.

Pule Mabe (53)

The former ANCYL treasurer was last year arrested on charges ranging from theft, and fraud to money laundering for allegedly soliciting funds from the SA Social Security Agency, which were then given to companies owned by Mabe and business associates.

Humphrey Mmemezi (111)

His inclusion in the list is a reward for his apparent role of defying the Gauteng ANC decision to support Kgalema Motlanthe for president during the ANC’s Mangaung elective conference in December 2012.

Mmemezi was elected despite being found guilty of abusing a state credit card. He used it to buy a painting worth R10 000 at a McDonald’s restaurant, and purchased groceries for his relatives and family and clothing for himself.

He also used the card for an overnight stay at a lodge less than 5km from his home in Krugersdorp.

Cassel Mathale (81)

He was axed as Limpopo premier after five key provincial departments were placed under national administration in 2012, following a spate of service delivery failures, including the much publicised textbook scandals and corruption involving tender irregularities.

Lassy Chiwayo (165)

The former Mbombela mayor was another surprise inclusion on the list. He was recalled as South Africa’s consul-general after an embarrassing scene on the streets of Shanghai in China, in December 2012, when he was seen walking around naked near his official residence.

There were also allegations that he had assaulted South Africa’s ambassador to China, Bheki Langa, at a function in Beijing. Chiwayo has denied both claims.

Beauty Dlulane (54)

An ANC MP, Dlulane was handed a R120 000 fine or five years’ imprisonment after she pleaded guilty to one count of fraud amounting to R289 000 in service benefits and mileage claims.

Mnyamezeli Booi (119)

An ANC MP, he was sentenced to a fine of R50 000, or five years’ imprisonment, after pleading guilty to fraud.

The Star

Tell a friend