Northern Cape ANC members started to vote for their preferred candidates for Mangaung on Friday night.

Voting at the nomination conference in Kimberley started around 8pm. All positions in the ANC's top six were contested.

Branches had nominated ANC president Jacob Zuma and his deputy Kgalema Motlanthe for party president.

There were three nominations for the post of deputy president - Motlanthe, ANC national executive committee (NEC) member Cyril Ramaposa and ANC treasurer general Mathews Phosa.

Four nominations were made for national party chairperson Ä ANC NEC members Baleka Mbete, Thandi Modise, Tenjiwe Mtintso, and Lindiwe Sisulu.

Current ANC secretary-general Gwede Mantashe, Fikile Mbalula and Thandi Modise were nominated for the secretary-general post.

The deputy secretary-general position drew four nominations from branches Ä Fikile Mbalula, Thandi Modise, Jesse Duarte, and Gwede Mantashe.

Three nominations were received from branches for the treasurer general position Ä Lindiwe Sisulu, Mathews Phosa and Zweli Mkhize. - Sapa