Zuma announces new Cabinet

Comment on this story
iol news pic freedom day Union Buildings Zuma GCIS President Jacob Zuma

Cape Town - President Jacob Zuma announced his new Cabinet, with a few surprises, on Sunday evening.

As expected, African National Congress deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa is the country's new deputy president.

The other members of the Cabinet are:

* Minister in the Presidency: Jeff Radebe;

* Minister of Women in the Presidency: Susan Shabangu;

* Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Michael Masutha;

* Minister of Public Service and Administration: Collins Chabane;

* Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula;

* Minister of Home Affairs: Malusi Gigaba;

* Minister of Environmental Affairs: Edna Molewa;

* Minister of State Security: David Mahlobo;

* Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Service: Siyabonga Cwele;

* Minister of Police: Nkosinathi Nhleko;

* Minister of Trade and Industry: Rob Davies;

* Minister of Finance: Nhlanhla Nene;

* Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Senzeni Zokwana;

* Minister of Water and Sanitation: Nomvula Mokonyane;

* Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga;

* Minister of Health: Aaron Motsoaledi;

* Minister of International Relations and Co-operation: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane;

* Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform: Gugile Nkwinti;

* Minister of Higher Education and Training: Blade Nzimande;

* Minister of Economic Development: Ebrahim Patel;

* Minister of Transport: Dipuo Peters;

* Minister of Mineral Resources: Ngoako Ramathlodi;

* Minister of Social Development: Bathabile Dlamini;

* Minister of Public Enterprises: Lynne Brown;

* Minister of Sport and Recreation: Fikile Mbalula;

* Minister of Labour: Mildred Oliphant;

* Minister of Arts and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa;

* Minister of Public Works: Thulas Nxesi;

* Minister of Small Business Development: Lindiwe Zulu;

* Minister of Energy: Tina Joemat-Pettersson;

* Minister of Science and Technology: Naledi Pandor;

* Minister of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Pravin Gordhan;

* Minister of Communications: Faith Muthambi

* Minister of Human Settlements: Lindiwe Sisulu; and

* Tourism: Derek Hanekom


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.