Two more for Gauteng e-toll panel

Comment on this story
iol news pic David Makhura e-toll panel SAPA Gauteng premier David Makhura briefs reporters in Johannesburg on the panel which will review the controversial e-tolls in the province.Picture: Werner Beukes/SAPA

Johannesburg - Two people have been added to the panel tasked with examining the impact of e-tolls, Gauteng premier David Makhura said on Thursday.

“The panel is supposed to consist of 15 members, we have added two who are Danisa Baloyi and Bridgette Ssamula,” Makhura said at the panel's first meeting in Johannesburg.

“We are further consulting with others to add to this panel.”

The first 10 panel members announced last week are: chairman Muxe Nkondo, Patricia Hanekom, John Ngcebetsha, Vuyo Mahlathi, Luci Abrahams, Fiona Tregenna, Anna Mokgokong, John Sampson, Lauretta Teffo, and Chris Malikane.

The panel was tasked with inviting proposals and submissions from Gauteng residents on proposed solutions to e-tolling.

It would submit its findings and recommendations to the provincial government.

The panel is expected to present monthly reports, and a final report and recommendations by November 30, 2014.

“Today is the panel's first meeting. They are going to plan their work on how they will go about doing their tasks and when they will invite stakeholders and members of the public to submit inputs,” Makhura said.


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines