US has life of pi

Comment on this story
iol scitech aug 15 calculator . Pi, or 3.14159265, is the mathematical constant that is the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter.

Washington - Figuring out the number of American residents got as easy as pi on Tuesday as the United States touched a rare mathematical and demographic milestone.

The Census Bureau said that the United States reached 314,159,265 residents, or the mathematical ratio pi times 100 million, shortly after 2:29pm EDT (1829 GMT).

Pi, or 3.14159265, is the mathematical constant that is the ratio of a circle's circumference to its diameter. It often is approximated as 22/7.

“This is a once in many generations event ... so go out and celebrate this American pi,” Census Bureau Chief Demographer Howard Hogan said in a statement.

The pi milestone is “very meaningful to mathematical statisticians,” the statement said.

As of 3:54pm EDT (1954 GMT), the bureau's population clock showed a US population of 314,159,667. There were 7,032,793,077 people in the world. http://www.census.gov/main/www/popclock.html - Reuters

Hungry for more scitech news? Sign up for our daily newsletter


sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines