Will.i.am song blasts to Mars and back

Comment on this story
iol scitech aug 28 will.i.am REUTERS File photo: Will.i.am

Los Angels - Nasa's Curiosity rover is making global headlines as it travels uncharted territory on Mars, and it will venture into new realms back on Earth this week when it premieres a new will.i.am song.

The Black Eyed Peas rapper's tune Reach For The Stars will be broadcast live from the surface of Mars, via Curiosity, at 1pm PST (4pm EDT/2000 GMT) on Tuesday to a news conference at Nasa's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, the organisation said in a statement on Monday.

The debut of the song, described as an ode to the singer's “passion for science, technology and space exploration,” will be linked to an educational event in which members of the Curiosity team will explain the song's transmission across space to students, as well as the rover's overall mission.

The project is a collaboration between Nasa and the rapper's i.am.angel Foundation, which aims to provide digital resources in classrooms from kindergarten to grade 12.

The foundation will announce a new science, technology, arts, engineering and mathematics initiative featuring the Mars Curiosity Rover and other Nasa assets. - Reuters

Hungry for more scitech news? Sign up for our daily newsletter



sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.