Facebook phases in 'Unfollow' button

Comment on this story


iol scitech feb 12 facebook like

AFP

At issue was Facebook's use of minors' names and photos in targeted advertising in a case that highlighted privacy concerns.

San Francisco - Facebook has replaced its “Hide All” button with the more succinct “Unfollow,” letting users block all messages and posts from selected friends.

As with the previous button, it gives users the option of blocking content from certain people without offending them, say through de-friending. The latter alternative severs ties with that person on the social network, without notifying them.

“This means you are still friends, but updates from that person won't appear in your News Feed. The goal of this change is to help people curate their newsfeed and see more of the content that they care about,” Facebook said in an email.

The world's largest social network is constantly tweaking its newsfeed - the main page users look at on the network - often by reducing clutter, especially from advertising, and bringing to the surface or revealing the posts deemed most relevant to any particular user.

Facebook began rolling out the “Unfollow” button and a related change to its users on Monday. It added a “Following” button next to the usual “Like” button on a page or next to the “Friends” button on a personal timeline, which will also enable users to block posts. - Reuters

Hungry for more scitech news? Sign up for our daily newsletter


sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

     

Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks