Munyai loses WBA title bout

Comment on this story
iol spt apr20 Mayani-title bout Getty Images Tshifhiwa Munyai lies on the canvas for a second time after being knocked down by Scott Quigg during the WBA World Super Bantamweight Title fight. Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

London – Britain's Scott Quigg retained his World Boxing Association (WBA) super-bantamweight title with a second-round stoppage of South Africa's Tshifiwa Munyai in Manchester on Saturday.

Fighting in front of what was effect a 'home town' crowd, the 25-year-old from nearby Bury dropped Munyai to the canvas in the first round and in the second referee Howard Foster stopped the contest when the challenger was again knocked to the floor.

Victory saw Quigg, who extended his unbeaten professional record to 30 fights, closer to a domestic showdown with another undefeated boxer in Belfast's Carl Frampton.

“I wanted to make a statement,” Quigg told Sky Sports after making short work of Munyai.

“I said I wanted to show the best of Scott Quigg and that's what I had to do and no-one's ever done that to Munyai.

“I've gone in there and demolished him. It was a calculated start Ä but we nailed it down beforehand and did what we had to.” – Sapa-AFP


sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.