CSA awards Heritage Blazers

Comment on this story
iol spt mar13 Lorgat AP South African cricket boss Haroon Lorgat

Johannesburg - The first 10 Cricket SA Heritage Blazers were presented at the CSA Awards Banquet in Sandton on Wednesday evening.

The Heritage Blazer came into being following a resolution at last year's transformation indaba which was subsequently approved by the CSA Board.

The idea is to honour players who were awarded national colours by their respective federations in the period before unity.

“Our past history is real and we must have the courage to acknowledge it,” CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.

“The important point though is that all our cricketers must now belong to one family and unite behind Cricket South Africa.

“We have identified about 700 players who represented South Africa before unity and we will bestow the Heritage Blazer to all 75 living players in the near future.”

In the apartheid years before unity, there were 10 federations which administered cricket in South Africa.

The federations were: the SA Cricket Board of Control (SACBOC), the SA African Cricket Board (SAACB), the SA Coloured Cricket Association (SACCA), the SA Indian Cricket Union (SAICU), the SA Malay Cricket Board (SAMCB), the SA Cricket Board (SACB), the SA Cricket Association (SACA), the SA Cricket Union (SACU), the SA and Rhodesian Women's Cricket Association (SARWCA) and the SA Women's Cricket Association (SAWCA).

The first 10 recipients to be honoured were: Sam Bulbulia (SACBOC), Samuel Nontshinga (SAACB), Bert Erickson (SACCA), Thoplan Parsuraman (SAICU), Hashim Rasdien (SAMCB), Saait Magiet (SACB), Barry Richards (SACA), Garth le Roux (SACU), Denise Weyers (SARRWCA) and Denise Reid (SAWCA).

The new Heritage Blazers will have the standard CSA badge on the pocket with the simple designation of the board the players represented and their debut year underneath it.


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines