AB up for three gongs at CSA Awards

Comment on this story
AB_trophies2 Gallo Images AB de Villiers of South Africa.

The 2012 South African Cricket Awards categories feature an exciting batch of nominees, with the winners to be announced at the Gala Dinner on Wednesday, June 6 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

The SA Cricketer of the Year is the most prestigious award of the evening and in contention are AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Hashim Amla.

Jacques Kallis was the winner of this award in 2011, with past winners including Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Shaun Pollock and Makhaya Ntini.

The Proteas' T20 and ODI captain AB de Villiers earned nominations in three categories, including the ODI Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year which he has never won.

De Villiers currently averages close to 50 in both ODI's and Test's and was the leading run-scorer for the Proteas with a highest score of 160 against Sri Lanka this season.

Morne Morkel was the Proteas' leading wicket-taker in T20 and ODI cricket, and has earned recognition by being nominated for the T20 Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year.

His ODI career-best of 5/38 against New Zealand in Napier capped off a superb season for him.

Faf du Plessis of the Nashua Titans has been rewarded for his all-round performances on the domestic scene this season, receiving nominations for the One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year, T20 Cricketer of the Year and the Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year.

The young Highveld Lions' batsman, Temba Bavuma, had an excellent first-class campaign, and has been nominated for the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year alongside Lions' teammate Alviro Petersen and Du Plessis.

The Proteas' explosive debutant, Richard Levi has been nominated for the International T20 Cricketer of Year as well as the KFC “So Good” Award for his record -breaking 117 against New Zealand in Hamilton.

Shandre Fritz leads the nominations for the CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year award for her stellar performances for both the national team and her provincial side of Western Province.

This is her second consecutive nomination for the award and she goes up against Western Province teammate Shabnim Ismail, who was a star with the ball in the 2011/2012 season.

The third nominee is Trisha Chetty, who won the award in 2009. Chetty has produced exceptional performances both with bat and gloves for her province, KwaZulu-Natal, and for the National team.

Amateur Awards

Women's Cricket CSA's Women's Cricketer of the Year: Shandre Fritz, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail.

Professional Awards

Operational CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete, Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock.

CSA Scorer' Association of the Year: Gauteng, Boland, Northerns.

CSA Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott, Louis Kruger, Nico Pretorius.

Professional Awards: Domestic CSA One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year: Charl Langeveldt, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar.

T20 Cricketer of the Year: Chris Morris, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis.

Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year: Temba Bavuma, Alviro Petersen, Faf du Plessis.

Professional Awards: International CSA International T20

Cricketer of the Year: Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Richard Levi.

ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander.

KFC “So Good” Award: Vernon Philander, Richard Levi, Marchant de Lange.

SA Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander, Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, AB de Villiers.

Note: Awards Judging Panel Colin Bryden (Chairperson), Aslam Khota, Zolani Bongco, Graeme Pollock. – Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines