Johannesburg – The Dolphins were crowned domestic T20 champions as they beat the Cape Cobras by two runs in the final, at Newlands, on Sunday.

The Dolphins batted first and posted a total of 146 for eight in their innings.

The home side fell just short as they made 144 for seven from their 20 overs.

Morne van Wyk top-scored for the Dolphins with 47, while Jacques Kallis was the pick of the Cobras bowlers with 4 for 26 from his three overs.

In the Cobras chase, the hosts side fell to 20 for four, before Stiaan van Zyl (46) and Sybrand Engelbrecht (56) put on a 91-run fifth wicket partnership.

Despite a late cameo from Justin Kemp of 21 not out for the Cobras, the hosts fell just shy of their target.

Kyle Abbott was the pick of the Dolphins bowlers with a miserly 2 for 17 from his four overs as his side held out for the narrow win. – Sapa