Beuran withdraws from Proteas ODI squad

Comment on this story
iol spt aug13 Beuran Independent Newspapers Beuran Hendricks has been ruled out of the ODI leg of the Proteas' tour of Zimbabwe, after sustaining a lumbar strain. Photo: Matthew Jordaan

Johannesburg – The Proteas' ODI squad will travel to Bulawayo on Thursday morning, ahead of the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe starting on Sunday.

Mthokozisi Shezi, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Aaron Phangiso and Marchant de Lange will join the squad in Bulawayo, while Dean Elgar, Dane Piedt, Stiaan van Zyl and Alviro Petersen will return to South Africa.

Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel have been rested for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe but will return for the triangular series which also includes Australia.

Beuran Hendricks has been ruled out of the ODI leg of the Proteas' tour, after sustaining a lumbar strain during South Africa A's tour of Australia. No replacement will be called up in his place.

The selectors will finalise the squad for the triangular series at the conclusion of the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe.

South Africa ODI squad v Zimbabwe: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi. – Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines