Johannesburg – The Proteas' ODI squad will travel to Bulawayo on Thursday morning, ahead of the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe starting on Sunday.

Mthokozisi Shezi, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Aaron Phangiso and Marchant de Lange will join the squad in Bulawayo, while Dean Elgar, Dane Piedt, Stiaan van Zyl and Alviro Petersen will return to South Africa.

Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel have been rested for the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe but will return for the triangular series which also includes Australia.

Beuran Hendricks has been ruled out of the ODI leg of the Proteas' tour, after sustaining a lumbar strain during South Africa A's tour of Australia. No replacement will be called up in his place.

The selectors will finalise the squad for the triangular series at the conclusion of the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe.

South Africa ODI squad v Zimbabwe: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi. – Sapa