Clarke beats Amla to top ICC award

Comment on this story


Getty Images

Michael Clarke of Australia. Picture: Paul Kane/Getty Images

London – Michael Clarke was named ICC Cricketer of the Year on Friday with the Australia captain also bagging the Test Player of the Year award after a stellar season with the bat.

He beat Hashim Amla, James Anderson, Alastair Cook, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara to the award.

Sangakkara, who won both the honours last year, has been named ODI Cricketer Of the Year, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said in a statement.

Promising Indian top order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

“I was very surprised, to be honest, I think probably because there are so many guys who are playing so well around the world at the moment,” Clarke told Cricket Australia website (

Clarke was the world's leading run-scorer in the voting period which included the team's 4-0 drubbing in India and 3-0 Ashes loss in England.

“I'd swap it for the team to have success, that's for sure,” said Clarke, who has led from the front as Australia inched closer to regaining the urn by racing to a 2-0 lead in the ongoing return Ashes series.

Clarke amassed 1559 run in the voting period averaging 70-plus with the help of five hundreds, two being double centuries.

The 32-year-old right-hand batsman said he wanted to get even better to establish himself among the greats of the game.

“It's an honour to have won this award this year, but if I want to become a great player, I need to make sure I'm scoring runs and helping this team win games for a few more years to come yet.”

Richard Kettleborough of England won the top umpire's award while New Zealand captain Suzie Bates was named the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year.


Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Michael Clarke (Australia)

Test Cricketer of the Year – Michael Clarke (Australia)

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ODI Cricketer of the Year – Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Umar Gul (Pakistan)

T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)

Spirit of Cricket Award – Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough. – Reuters

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.


Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks

Business Directory