India choose to bowl first

Comment on this story

IOL pic july30 cricket ball



Durban - The Proteas will bat first in the second one-day international after India won a delayed toss and chose to bowl at Kingsmead, in Durban, on Sunday.

The match will be a 49-over a side contest and starts 90 minutes late after wet patches in the outfield delayed the scheduled 10am start.

A high amount of rain had fallen in the city over the past month, and with overcast conditions on Saturday and Sunday, the field had not dried sufficiently, forcing umpires Shaun George and Richard Illingworth to wait slightly.

South Africa lead the three-game series 1-0 after a comprehensive 141-run triumph in the opening match at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Thursday.

They made one change to their team, drafting in Vernon Philander for Wayne Parnell, while the Indians had three alterations with Ajinkya Rahane, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma coming in for Yuvraj Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohit Sharma.


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami. - Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.


Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks

Business Directory