Zaahier Adams in Chittagong

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal has won the toss in the World Twenty20 Group 2 opener and has elected to bat against South Africa here at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium on Saturday.

AB de Villiers walked out to toss with Chandimal and will lead the Proteas after regular T20 captain Faf du Plessis failed his fitness test this morning. South Africa’s premier fast bowler Dale Steyn, though, has recovered from his hamstring strain and will lead the attack.

Titans batsman Farhaan Berhardien will replace Du Plessis in the middle-order, while South Africa have opted for only Lonwabo Tsotsobe of their three left-arm fast-medium bowlers with Wayne Parnell and Beuran Hendricks sitting out the opener.

Full Teams

South Africa: 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 AB de Villiers, 4 JP Duminy, 5 Farhaan Behardien 6 David Miller, 7 Albie Morkel, 8 Dale Steyn 9 Morne Morkel, 10 Lonwabo Tsotsobe, 11 Imran Tahir


Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Perera, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Mahela Jayawardene, 4 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 5 Dinesh Chandimal (capt), 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Sachitra Senanayake, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Ajantha Mendis