Proteas win toss and bowl again


The Proteas have made three changes to their starting XI for Saturday’s second ODI against England in Southampton.

After captain AB de Villiers won the toss and chose to bowl first – as he did in the first ODI at Headingley a few days ago – he revealed that the Proteas have mixed and matched their combinations at the Rose Bowl (12pm start).

Tell a friend
Keshav Maharaj will make his ODI debut for the Proteas on Saturday. Photo: Andrew Cornaga, www.photosport.nzFarhaan Behardien, seen here in the nets on Friday, returns to the Proteas side. Photo: Jason Cairnduff, Action Images via Reuters

Middle-order batsman Farhaan Behardien, all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius and spinner Keshav Maharaj have been brought into the team, with JP Duminy, Wayne Parnell and Imran Tahir left out as the South Africans look to give as many players some game time as possible ahead of the ICC Champions Trophy.

Maharaj will make his one-day international debut.

England made one enforced change to their side, with Chris Woakes nursing a niggle and Jake Ball coming in as his replacement.

De Villiers said at the toss that the Proteas were looking to produce an improved display following the 72-run defeat at Headingley in Leeds on Wednesday.

Their batting let them down, with a number of poor shots being played by the middle-order.

“We felt off the gas in the last game. We’ve had an honest chat with each other and expect it to go better today,” De Villiers said.

Teams For Southampton

England: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Jake Ball, Mark Wood.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Dwaine Pretorius, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada.

Tell a friend