Proteas win toss, bat first

Comment on this story
iol spt apr4 Quinny de Kock Reuters Proteas captain Faf Du Plessis won the toss and elected to bat first in their World Twenty20 semi-final against India. Photo by: Siphiwe Sibeko/Reuters

South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to bat against India in the second semi-final of the World Twenty20 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Friday.

Du Plessis, who was suspended for the last match for a slow over rate, returned to the South Africa side replacing Farhaan Behardien.

Unbeaten India were unchanged from their last Super-10 stage match.

Teams: South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (captain), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Wayne Parnell

 India: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma - Reuters

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines