SA bats first against Sri Lanka

Comment on this story
IOL  Sri LankaSouth Africa Cricket~3

Hambantota, Sri Lanka - South Africa captain A.B. de Villiers won the toss Saturday and decided to bat first against Sri Lanka in the third and final one-day international.

The series is level 1-1 and though the pitch here generally helps pace bowlers, Sri Lanka has opted for a slower track this time.

Both teams made one change each to the side that played in the first two games.

Sri Lanka brought in left-arm spinner Rangana Herath for seam bowler Nuwan Kulasekara while South Africa played left-arm pace bowler Wayne Parnell instead of Vernon Philander.

South Africa is playing its first ODI at Hambantota but has played four T20 internationals here, winning three.


Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjan, Angelo Mathews (captain), Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir. - Sapa-AP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.