Two new caps in SA Test squad


Johannesburg - Stiaan van Zyl and Dane Piedt are the new caps in the Proteas Test squad to tour Sri Lanka next month, Cricket SA said on Tuesday.

Beuran Hendricks has been included in the ODI squad for the first time.

Tell a friend
Stiaan van Zyl during day 1 of the 4 day match between South Africa 'A" and Australia held at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom. Photo: Lee WarrenCape Cobra's spin bowler Dane Piedt. Photo: WILLEM LAW.

“Van Zyl and Piedt have been outstanding throughout the Cape Cobras' successful Sunfoil Series campaign, finishing up as leading runs scorer and wicket-taker respectively,” CSA selection convenor Andrew Hudson said.

“This emphasises once again the consistent route the selectors have always followed to recognise form through the pipeline path of franchise and South Africa A performance.”

Quinton de Kock and Kyle Abbott, who were not in the original squad for the Test Series against Australia in February but were called up as injury replacements, have been retained and there is also a recall for Imran Tahir.

The players to drop out of the Test squad are Thami Tsolekile, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren and Robin Peterson while Graeme Smith has retired.

Hendricks made his debut for the Proteas in the T20 Series against Australia and also went to the ICC World Twenty20 in March. He now makes his 50-overs debut in the place of Lonwabo Tsotsobe who is recovering from surgery and could not be considered.

The other changes see Faf du Plessis take the place of the retired Smith and Aaron Phangiso added as a second spinner.

“The tour to Sri Lanka obviously has different tactical considerations to a home series and that required us to alter the balance between our seam and spin bowling options,” Hudson said.

“These two squads are well equipped to take us forward as on the one hand we endeavour to regain the world No. 1 Test ranking and on the other to have a successful run-up to next year's ICC World Cup.”

Proteas Test squad: Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla (captain), Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl.

Proteas ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.


Tell a friend