Unchanged Proteas squad for Zim Test

Comment on this story
iol spt july20 Proteas joy Reuters Cricket South Africa named an unchanged Proteas squad for the one-off Test against Zimbabwe in Harare. Photo: Dinuka Liyanawatte

Johannesburg - Cricket South Africa (CSA) named an unchanged Proteas squad on Tuesday for the one-off Test against Zimbabwe on August 9 in Harare.

The Test will be followed by three ODI matches from August 17-21.

Furthermore the Proteas will compete in a triangular-series against Zimbabwe and Australia starting August 29.

CSA selection convenor Andrew Hudson, said the team had earned their vote of confidence.

“We will be naming the ODI squad for the three-match series against Zimbabwe next week and will give consideration to resting a couple of players,” Hudson said.

“We will, however, be sending our full-strength ODI squad for the following triangular series against Zimbabwe and Australia.”

Test squad: Hashim Amla (captain), AB de Villiers, vice-captain), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl.


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines