England put NZ in to bat

Comment on this story

Wellington – England won the toss and put New Zealand into bat in the third and final Twenty20 international in Wellington on Friday.

The New Zealand line-up was unchanged from the second T20 in Hamilton last Tuesday, when the Black Caps notched a 55-run win to level the series at 1-1.

England called up Joe Root to strengthen their batting for the series decider, dropping Samit Patel.


New Zealand: Hamish Rutherford, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (capt), Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Grant Elliott, Ian Butler, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan

England: Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Stuart Broad (capt), Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach

Umpires: Gary Baxter (NZL), Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Derek Walker (NZL)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI) – Sapa-AFP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.