Port of Spain – New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and decided to bat first against the West Indies on the opening day of the second match of the three-Test series at Queen's Park Oval on Monday.

On the heels of a 186-run win in the first Test in Jamaica, the tourists have made just one change with Hamish Rutherford replacing out-of-form opener Peter Fulton at the top of the order.

West Indies were forced to omit spinner Shane Shillingford because of an ankle injury with fast bowler Shannon Gabriel taking his place in the side.

Middle-order batsman Jermaine Blackwood makes his Test debut at the expense of fellow-Jamaican Marlon Samuels from the first Test while Kraigg Brathwaite joins Chris Gayle at the top of the order in place of Kieran Powell.

Teams: West Indies - Chris Gayle, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Jermaine Blackwood, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Denesh Ramdin (captain), Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Shannon Gabriel.

New Zealand - Tom Latham, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (captain), Jimmy Neesham, B.J. Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mark Craig, Trent Boult. – Sapa-AFP