Sangakkara joins 11000-Test runs club

Comment on this story
Sangakkara_triple AFP Kumar Sangakkara. Photo: Munir uz Zaman

New Delhi – Kumar Sangakkara struck his maiden triple hundred and became the ninth batsman to score 11,000 Test runs as a dominant Sri Lanka took control of the second and final Test against Bangladesh on Wednesday.

The stylish left-hander (319) was the last man out after his marathon 482-ball knock that included 32 boundaries and eight sixes as Sri Lanka amassed 587 before being all out on day two at Chittagong's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

Batting on 286 with number 11 batsman Nuwan Pradeep, Sangakkara hit left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan for a four and two sixes off successive deliveries to first go past his previous best score of 287 and then reach his maiden triple hundred in spectacular fashion.

Sangakkara, 36, was fastest to the 11 000 test-run club, having bettered West Indies batting great Brian Lara's record by five innings.

Kithuruwan Vithanage (35) and Ajantha Mendis (47) provided able support to Sangakkara and added 90 and 100 for the sixth and eighth wickets respectively.

All-rounder Shakib completed his 11th five-wicket haul but Bangladesh would require something of a miracle to win the test and square the two-match series after losing the first test in Dhaka by an innings and 248 runs. – Reuters

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines