SL field first against England

Comment on this story
iol spt may22 Eng-SL toss Getty Images Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to field in the first one-day international against England at The Oval. Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images

London – Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to field in the first one-day international against England at The Oval on Thursday.

England made three changes to the side that lost by nine runs to World Twenty20 champions Sri Lanka in Tuesday's lone Twenty20 at The Oval for the day/night clash, the first of this five-match series.

England captain Alastair Cook, who does not play in Twenty20

internationals, returned to open alongside Ian Bell.

Michael Carberry was left out, with fellow Twenty20 opener Alex Hales not included in England's one-day squad.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance was named at number three for the first time by England as Mathews elected to field first in overcast conditions.

Meanwhile experienced paceman James Anderson was recalled in place of Chris Woakes, with fellow seamer Tim Bresnan also omitted from England's 14-man squad.

Sri Lanka welcomed back senior batsmen Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jawayardene, who both retired from Twenty20 internationals following Sri Lanka's global success in Bangladesh in April.


England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Jordan, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Harry Gurney

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (capt), Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga

Umpires: Rob Bailey (ENG) and Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL) – Sapa-AFP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines