Vettori sidelined by injury

Comment on this story
IOL pic aug6 generic cricket ball Allsport .

Wellington - A shoulder injury has ruled veteran left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori out of the New Zealand cricket team to play two Tests in India later this month.

Vettori damaged his right shoulder during New Zealand's recent Test series in the West Indies and was omitted from the 15-man squad named on Tuesday for the tour to India.

Offspinner Jeetan Patel was included in Vettori's place and may make his first test appearance since playing against Zimbabwe late last year.

Australian-born batsman Dean Brownlie was dropped from the squad because of his lack of recent form. His place has been taken by allrounder James Franklin, who last played a Test for New Zealand in January 2011.

The first Test begins at Hyderabad on August 23 with the second at Bengluru on August 31.

“The tour of India will be a great challenge and experience for this squad,” national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said.

“Unfortunately Daniel Vettori won't recover in time for the Test series, but his injury has created and opportunity for Jeetan Patel to come back into the side. Jeetan has been in great from for Warwickshire and deserves his opportunity.

“James Franklin has been brought into the squad to bolster the batting. He brings a lot of experience and knowledge of playing in Indian conditions which will be invaluable.

Veteran Chris Martin will lead a moderately experienced seam bowling attack in India, comprising South Africa-born Neil Wagner, who made his test debut in the West Indies, along with young left-armer Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell and Tim Southee.

Patel and young legspinner Tarun Nethula will provide the spin options to captain Ross Taylor.

New Zealand lost its two-Test series against the West Indies 2-0, let down mostly by its top-order batting, but the omission of Dean Brownlee is the selectors' only response to those failures. - Sapa-AP

SQUAD: Ross Taylor (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tarun Nethula, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Kruger van Wyk, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling and Kane Williamson.

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines