Zim sends Aussies in to bat

Comment on this story
iol spt aug25 Cricket Pitch Gallo Images Zimbabwe won the toss and sent Australia in to bat in the opening game of the triangular one-day international series. Photo by: Anesh Debiky

Harare, Zimbabwe – Zimbabwe won the toss and sent Australia in to bat in the opening game of the triangular one-day international series at Harare Sports Club on Monday.

Australia captain Michael Clarke is out with a hamstring injury leaving George Bailey to lead the top-ranked Aussies in their first game in Zimbabwe in 10 years.

Australia left out in-form batsman Phil Hughes and opted for allrounders Steve Smith and Mitchell Marsh. Bailey, Brad Haddin, Aaron Finch and Glenn Maxwell will fill top-order batting slots. Offspinner Nathan Lyon was also selected to play on the traditionally slow Harare pitch.

Zimbabwe recalled batsmen Brendan Taylor and Tino Mawoyo, and seamer Tendai Chatara was brought in to bolster the bowling following a 3-0 ODI series loss at home to South Africa last week. Zimbabwe retained offspinner Prosper Utseya in its lineup after he was reported for a suspected illegal action in the final game against South Africa. Utseya is allowed to play pending tests on his bowling action.

South Africa is the other country in the two-week triangular series and will open against Australia on Wednesday. The teams will play each other twice before the final on Sept. 6.


Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Tino Mawoyo, Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Richmond Mutumbami, Prosper Utseya, John Nyumbu, Tendai Chatara, Tinashe Panyangara.

Australia: George Bailey (captain), Brad Haddin, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon. – Sapa-AP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines