Zim win toss, bat against Windies

Comment on this story
Brendan_Taylor Gallo Images Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor.

St George’s – Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor won the toss and elected to bat first against the West Indies in the second one-day international at the National Cricket Stadium in Grenada on Sunday.

West Indies were forced to omit opening batsman Johnson Charles, the Man of the Match from the first one-dayer, due to foot and hamstring injuries sustained while batting on Friday.

Hard-hitting middle-order batsman Kieron Pollard, who was not considered for the opening fixture due to his late arrival from Bangladesh, replaces Charles.

Zimbabwe, who must win this match to keep the three-match series alive after a heavy 156-run loss in the first ODI, also made one change, Tendai Chatara replacing Chris Mpofu in a straight swap of tall, slim fast-medium bowlers.


West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Kieran Powell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Narsingh Deonarine, Andre Russell, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Kemar Roach, Tino Best.

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Justice Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Malcolm Waller, Regis Chakabva, Prosper Utseya, Kyle Jarvis, Natsai M'Shangwe, Tendai Chatara.

Umpires: Johann Cloete (SA) and Peter Nero (WIS)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (Eng)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (Ind) – Sapa-AFP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines