Tiger Woods has been called a cheat by former PGA Tour pro and Golf Channel lead analyst Brandel Chamblee, one of American television’s most respected golf commentators.
The explosive article appears in the US magazine Golf this week and it’s thought that Woods will take legal action in response.
Woods won five times on the PGA Tour and was named Player of the Year by his peers. But he was also involved in at least four rules controversies.
Calling Tiger “cavalier with the rules”, 51-year-old American Chamblee gave exam grades in the magazine article to each of the leading players and awarded Woods an “F”.
He then embarked on an analogy that left no room for doubt as to why the grade was so dismal.
“When I was in the fourth grade, I cheated on a math test and when I got the paper back it had 100 written at the top and just below the grade was this quote: ‘Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive!’
“It was an oft-quoted line from the epic poem Marmion by Sir Walter Scott, and my teacher’s message was clear. Written once more beneath that quote was my grade of 100, but this time with a line drawn through it and, beneath that, an F.
“I never did ask my teacher how she knew I cheated and I certainly didn’t protest the grade. I knew I had done the wrong thing and I never forgot the way I felt.”
Drawing a line through a score of 100 and giving Woods an F, Chamblee concluded: “I remember when we only talked about Tiger’s golf. I miss those days. He won five times and contended in majors and won the Vardon Trophy and – how shall we say this – was a little cavalier with the rules.”
Chamblee is the first to openly declare that Woods cheated. It is certainly a brave call, given the power Woods holds and the storm that will assuredly follow.
Chamblee might not be the biggest name on the circuit, but he is certainly among the most forthright and knowledgeable.
Woods’s rules woes began in Abu Dhabi in January, where he was given a two-shot penalty for taking an illegal drop.
By far the worst came at the Masters, where he again took an illegal drop after his approach to the 15th in the second round cannoned unluckily off the flag stick into a water hazard. Woods duly signed for an incorrect scorecard when he was subsequently assessed a two-stroke penalty.
Disqualification ought to have followed, only for the Masters rules committee to come up with a tortuous explanation as to why “exceptional” circumstances applied. Even so, when he realised he had broken the rules, Woods should have disqualified himself. Instead, he played on.
A month later, he allegedly gave himself another favourable drop at the Players Champion-ship.
Finally, at the BMW Championship last month, he argued vehemently against a two-shot penalty being assessed for causing his ball to move while lifting a twig, even though television evidence appeared damning.
Now Chamblee has reached the gravest conclusion. We haven’t heard the last of this. – Daily Mail