Bolt, Felix win IAAF awards

Comment on this story
Felix_Bolt Getty Images Allyson Felix of the United States is seen here with Jamaica's Usain Bolt.

Barcelona – Six-times Olympic champion Usain Bolt was named World Athlete of the Year a record fourth time on Saturday while American Allyson Felix won the women's award for the first time after getting three golds at the London Olympics, the ruling body IAAF said.

Bolt, 26, won back-to-back sprint trebles at the 2012 Games in the 100 metres, 200m and 4x100m to get the award in an IAAF poll, his previous titles coming in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

The Jamaican world record holder came up first against Olympic champions and world record holders David Rudisha of Kenya (800m) and American Aries Merritt (110m hurdles).

Felix, 26, took 200m, 4x100m and 4x400m gold in London, to go with a 4x400m gold from 2008 to get the women's award ahead of Olympic champions Jessica Ennis of Britain (heptathlon) and Valerie Adams of New Zealand (shot put).

The award ceremony in Barcelona was part of the IAAF centenary celebrations. – Sapa-dpa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines