Jake sticks to winning formula

Comment on this story
iol spt mar20 Sharks-Reds Gallo Images The Sharks have named an unchanged starting XV for their Super Rugby trip to Loftus Versfeld where they will play the Bulls. Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Durban – The Sharks have named an unchanged starting XV for their Super Rugby trip to Loftus Versfeld where they will play the Bulls on Saturday.

Director of rugby Jake White has continued his policy of sticking with continuity with the only changes coming on the bench, where uncapped pair Tim Swiel and Andre Esterhuizen have been named.

They come in at the expense of Heimar Williams and Jaco van Tonder with still no sign of last season's captain, Keegan Daniel.

Springbok centre JP Pietersen will join a select group of players when he wins his 100th cap in Pretoria.

“It is a big achievement for a guy that plays 100 times for his franchise,” White said.

“I have no doubt that it's not only what he brings on the field, but also what he brings to the rest of the group off the field.

“I'm sure it will be a special occasion for him. I have no doubt JP, being as popular a player as he is to this group, a lot of the players will want to do well for him as well.”

The Sharks currently top the overall standings with four wins from four, while the Bulls are sixth after winning twice, also after four appearances.

Sharks team: SP Marais, JP Pietersen, S'bura Sithole, Frans Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo, Patrick Lambie, Cobus Reinach, Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Stephan Lewies, Anton Bresler, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Kyle Cooper, Dale Chadwick, Lourens Adriaanse, Etienne Oosthuizen, Tera Mtembu, Charl McLeod, Tim Swiel, Andre Esterhuizen. – Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines