Lambie named on Sharks bench

Comment on this story
iol spt aug13 Lambie Gallo Images Patrick Lambie has been released from Springbok duty this week and named on the bench for the Sharks' first home match of the Currie Cup season. Photo by Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Durban – Patrick Lambie has been released from Springbok duty this week and named on the bench for the Sharks' first home match of the Currie Cup season, against the Pumas in Durban on Friday.

The star back missed close to four months of rugby after surgery on a torn biceps muscle and only returned last month.

National coach Heyneke Meyer wanted to see him gain more game time and did something similar last week when he sent two other recent returnees to his squad back to Western Province – Eben Etzebeth and Frans Malherbe.

Lambie would have to be content with a place on the bench as his coach Brad Macleod-Henderson stuck largely to the same team which defeated the Griquas 31-24 in Kimberley last weekend.

Only one change was made for the Kings Park clash with young lock JC Astle making his run-on debut in the second row, in place of Stephan Lewies, who is unavailable.

“I think there were eight guys making their Currie Cup debuts for the Sharks and all had strong games, so it was a good start for us,” Macleod-Henderson said of his inexperienced team who were without their Springboks players doing national duty.

Scrumhalf Cameron Wright retained his place and would continue his halfback pairing with flyhalf Fred Zeilinga.

“I thought Cameron came through brilliantly for a first game at this level in difficult conditions.

“He had a fantastic game, so we're very happy.”

Another new uncapped player Johan Meyer was on the bench.

“We've taken a lot of confidence out of our away win last week and we're very excited about being back home. It's fantastic to play at Kings Park,” Macleod-Henderson said.

Sharks team: SP Marais, Odwa Ndungane, S'bura Sithole, Paul Jordaan, Tonderai Chavhanga, Fred Zeilinga, Cameron Wright, Tera Mtembu (captain), Etienne Oosthuizen, Jacques Botes, Marco Wentzel, JC Astle, Lourens Adriaanse, Kyle Cooper, Thomas du Toit.

Replacements: Monde Hadebe, Matt Stevens, Johan Meyer, Francois Kleinhans, Hanco Venter, Patrick Lambie, Lionel Cronje. – Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines