Phoenix hailed by LA critics

Comment on this story
IOL pic jan14 amy adams Reuters Amy Adams

London - Amy Adams and Joaquin Phoenix were among the big winners at the 2013 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards.

The Master co-stars - who are both also nominated for Oscars next month - walked away with the Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress awards for their performances in the controversial cult-inspired movie about a Scientology-like group at the annual ceremony held at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City, California, on Saturday night.

The 38-year-old actress, who is also nominated for a prize at the Golden Globe Awards on Sunday, was joined at the event by her husband Darren Le Gallo, with whom she shares a two-year-old daughter, Aviana.

The film's director Paul Thomas Anderson also picked up the Best Director award.

French-language drama Amour was the other main recipient at this year's ceremony, winning the Best Picture award.

The Best Actress prize was shared between the movie's star Emmanuelle Riva and Silver Linings Playbook actress Jennifer Lawrence.

Dwight Henry won the Best Supporting Actor prize for the independent movie Beasts of the Southern Wild, whose nine-year-old star, Quvenzhane Wallis, became the youngest ever actress to be nominated for a Best Actress Oscar earlier this week.

Chris Terrio took home the Best Screenplay prize for his work on Ben Affleck's film Argo, and British director Tim Burton received the Best Animation prize for his film Frankenweenie.

The Los Angeles critics' collective announced the winners of its awards in December but the ceremony only took place on Saturday.

Full list of announced winners:

Best Picture - Amour

Best Actor - Joaquin Phoenix, The Master

Best Actress - Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook, and Emmanuelle Riva, Amour (tie)

Best Supporting Actor - Dwight Henry, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Supporting Actress - Amy Adams, The Master

Best Director - Paul Thomas Anderson, The Master

Best Screenplay - Chris Terrio, Argo

Best Cinematography - Roger Deakins, Skyfall

Best Editing - Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, Zero Dark Thirty

Best Documentary/Non-fiction Film - The Gatekeepers

Best Foreign-Language Film - Holy Motors

Best Animated Film - Frankenweenie

Best Music/Score - Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Production Design - David Crank and Jack Fisk, The Master - Bang Showbiz

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines