CD review: Mariah Carey

Comment on this story
TO mariah-carey_CITY_E1

Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse

Mariah Carey


An impressive compilation by an artist who continues to make history.

MAKING a comeback since her last album in 2009, pop diva Mariah Carey drops her 14th studio album titled Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse.

The 44-year-old Grammy winner seems to show her loyal fans that she still has what it takes to own the title of powerhouse songstress.

On this 14-track compilation, the singer gives her fans a taste of the old Mariah we all know and love. Her first release off the album, #Beautiful, featuring Miguel, was a chart topper and she was complimented by many for collaborating with the US rapper.

Standout tracks are Cry, You Don’t Know What To Do (featuring Wale), One More Try and Heavenly. There are some powerful ballads fused with the use of a church-organ.

Lyrically, Mimi focuses on themes of love, heartbreak and spiritual support. Over all, Me. I Am Mariah is an enjoyable listen with feel-good tracks that will have fans rushing out to purchase it. There’s no denying that Mariah Carey continues to make history – past and present. – Valencia Govindasamy

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines