Stars shine bright at theatre awards

Comment on this story
ST NalediTheatreAwards199 INLSA MEMORABLE MOMENT: Mara Louw welcomes award recipient David Kramer at the Naledi Awards last night. Photo: Dumisani Sibeko

Awards are always a controversial thing, simply because everyone has their own thoughts about who should win what and by this very nature, some of your favourites will be missing on the night.

The big surprise this year, however, is the time it has taken some productions to make their way to the Joburg stages, and many of them were richly rewarded.

Hayani was first performed when the two actors were still studying and it made a big splash at Grahamstown in 2009 before it had a short run at the Wits Theatre with its big Joburg run last year. Ellen Pakkies has been touring the country and festivals starting in 2011. Even Mies Julie took a long, walk to Gauteng, which on one hand means that at least, slowly but surely, the best work makes their way to our stages, but on the other, does that take away from plays that might have more immediate things to say?

Afrikaans theatre is again starting to show face in Gauteng – where it had completely disappeared off the radar – with an empowering performance by Vinette Ebrahim as Ellen Pakkies and the glorious ensemble of Balbesit given the nod. Surprisingly, Sunset Boulevard was rewarded for its look and style, rather than performances, music or direction with Blood Brothers’ Bianca le Grange pipping Angela Killian to the post and the Jersey Boys a more popular choice for the big awards. Two of last year’s weightier shows, Nongogo and The Mountaintop (apart from Desmond Dube’s supporting reward) were mostly ignored.

It’s glorious though, that theatre, in all its vibrant colour, is celebrated and feted, and with some special awards going to deserving artists like Lizz Meiring and Mbongeni Ngema, the stage gods must be smiling.


ST NalediTheatreAwards101 ELATED: Bianca la Grange won the award for best performance in a musical for her part in Blood Brothers. Photo: Dumisani Sibeko INLSA

Best Costumes: Penny Simpson: Sunset Boulevard

Best Set: Denis Hutchinson: Sunset Boulevard

Best Lighting: Denis Hutchinson: Sunset Boulevard

Best Production for Young Audiences: Secret Garden: National Childrens’ Theatre

Best Community Theatre Ishashalazi Award: Nomzamo: directed by Gcebili Dlamini for Hillbrow Theatre Project

Best Newcomer/Breakthrough (Brett Goldin Award): Khayalethu Anthony: Solomon and Marion

Best Score/ARR/Adapt: Alistair Izobell & David Kramer: Blood Brothers

Best Musical Director: Bryan Schimmel and Rowan Bakker: Jersey Boys

Best Ensemble/Cutting Edge: Balbesit: State Theatre

Best Supporting Actress in a Play/ Musical: Nondumiso Tembe: Race

Best Supporting Actor in a Play/ Musical: Desmond Dube: Nongogo

Best Director: Yael Farber: Mies Julie

Best Performance in a Musical (Female): Bianca la Grange: Blood Brothers

Best Performance in a Musical (Male): Grant Almirall: Jersey Boys

Best Performance in a Play in a Leading Role (Female): Vinette Ebrahim: My Naam/Name is Ellen Pakkies

Best Performance in a Play in a Leading Role (Male): Bongile Mantsai: Mies Julie

Best New SA Script: Hayani: written and directed by Atandwa Kani and Nat Ramabulana

Best Production of a Play: Mies Julie: written and directed by Yael Farber

Best Production of a Musical: Jersey Boys: produced by Showtime International

Sophie Mgcina Best New Emerging Voice Award: Lulu Mlangeni – dancer/ choreographer

Executive Director’s Award: Lizz Meiring

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mbongeni Ngema

To sign up for our Tonight newsletter click here

To vote on our Tonight poll click here

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines