File image

Johannesburg – At least ten young South African scientists and three senior researchers have been nominated by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAF) to attend the 2nd BRICS Young Scientist Forum in Hang Zhou, China this month.

In a statement released on Monday, the ASSAF said the joint venture with the Department of Science and Technology would see the talented young scientists’ attend the forum themed - “Building Young Scientists’ Leadership in Science, Technology and Innovation. Around 200 delegates from across the BRICS nations are expected to attend the forum.

The forum will comprise four thematic areas: energy, material, biotechnology & biomedicine, as well as one cross-cutting field of science, technology and innovation policies, science communication and science popularisation.

ASSAF said the forum would provide a high-level platform of academic and policy exchange for young scientists as well as scientific personnel from BRICS countries to help them grow their skills and improve academic and policy qualifications.

Read also: SA 'does not belong in BRIC' | IOL

Some of the attendees include, Dr Patience Mthunzi-Kufa, CSIR; Dr Karen Cloete, iThemba Labs; Prof Rapela Maphanga, University of Limpopo (UL); Dr Luyanda Noto, Unisa; Dr Banothile Makhubela, University of Johannesburg; Raesibe Sylvia Ledwaba, UL; Nokuthula Ethel Magida, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University; Dr Busiswa Ndaba, Agricultural Research Council; Dr Gaokgatlhe Mirriam Tawane, University of the Witwatersrand; Dr Shivan Chetty, University of Cape Town. Senior scientists to accompany them are Dr Mkhulu Mathe, CSIR, Prof Phuthi Ngoepe, UL, and Muziwandile Madikizela, University of Pretoria.