File image: INLSA
CAPE TOWN - The presidency has announced the newly appointed SABC board members. 

Take a look at their educational  background and expertise. 

Mr. Bongumusa Makhathini - The board chairperson
Amongst his list of qualification, Makhathini is a graduate of Havard Business School with a qualification in the General Management Programme.  He held executive positions at South African Breweries and has recently served at British American Tobacco.

Mrs. Febe Portgieter-Gqubule - Deputy chairperson of the board

Portgieter-Gqubule served as deputy chief of staff at the  African Union Commission in 2015.  She also served as an advisor for strategic and planning to the AU Commission under then chairperson, Dr. Nkosana Dlamini-Zuma.  Portgieter holds a Masters Degree from the University of Witwatersrand with her research focusing on youth unemployment and labour market policy and institutions.

Ms. Khanyisile Kweyama 

Kweyama has served on several boards including BMW SA, Barloworld Logistics Africa, Anglo American Platinum just to name a few.  She was elected as vice president of the Chamber of Mines SA in 2013-2014.  Kweyama holds a master's degree in Management from the University of Witwatersrand.

Mr. John Matisonn

Matisonn worked as a foreign correspondent in Washington for Rand Daily Mail and back in Johannesburg for National Public Radio.  He has been published in the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times The Observer and many others.  Before his appointment to the new SABC board, Matisson was part of the interim SABC board.

Mr. Mathatha Tsedu

Tsedu has conducted several training programmes in SA and several countries in the African continent.  He is one of the foremost recognised voices in the journalism field.
He started his journalism career has a freelancer in Limpopo and made his way to edit several national newspapers.  Tsedu holds Honours Arts degree in Journalism and Media studies from the University of Witwatersrand.

Ms. Rachel Kalidass

Kalidass is a Chatered Accountant with 18 years worth of extensive experience.  She has got experience particularly  in the public sector environment and currently serves on the Audit committee of the National Youth Development Agency.

Mr. Victor Rambau

Rambau has served in the NSFAS EXCO board.  He has served at Standard Bank's BPC Value Lead and Process Engineer.  He is currently acting as the COO at the NSFAS's Business Enablement unit

Mr. Dikwanyane Mohuba

Mohuba holds a Master's degree in Business Administration from the Regenysis Business School amongst his numerous qualifications.  He is the Executive Director for Marketing and Communication department at the University of Limpopo.  He heads a couple of Editorial roles for different publications.

Mr. Jack Phelane 

Phalane graduated from University of WItwatersrand  Business School with an MBA.  Has a vast experience  in commercial law. Phalane also served a the executive  director for Caxton and CTP Publishers and Printers.

Mr. Krish Naidoo 

SABC board member Krish Naidoo
Naidoo obtained M. Litt. degree from Abarden University.  He also has a doctoral degree in Political Science from the University of Natal.  He is currently a consultant for the ANC and a legal advisor for the ANC National Disciplinary Committee. Naidoo was a founding member of National Association of Democratic  Lawyers.

Mr. Michael Markovitz

Michael Markovitz via LinkedIn
Markovitz has got over two decades of experience in the media, entertainment and technology sectors.  He worked for ICASA, Independent Broadcasting Authority and Media and Broadcasting consultants.  Markovitz  received a Master of Arts from the University of York in the UK. He  also received a Bachelor of Journalism and Media Studies from Rhodes University.