100 24.05.2012 The Mail delivery depot in Zone 10 Sebokeng was vandalized as a mob wearing in post office attire stormed in at the depot. A Post Office bakkie parked just outside the entrance was set alight during the attack. Police believe that the attack is related to the post office workers who are on strike. Picture:Itumeleng English

Johannesburg - Four new non-executive directors have been appointed to the board of the SA Post Office (Sapo), it said on Friday.

They are Sathie Gounden, Templeton Mageza, Sihle Ngubane and Boitumelo Mothelesi.

“These appointments occur at an ideal time... as the organisation is embarking on a determined path to strengthen the pillars of governance, pursuit for alternative revenues, and drive for increased customer centricity for long-term growth,” said acting board chairman Hlamalani Manzini in a statement.

“Their expertise in commerce and industry will be invaluable to the sustainable growth of the SA Post Office.”

The new directors were appointed by Communications Minister Yunus Carrim for a period of three years to replace retired members.

In January, President Jacob Zuma signed a proclamation directing the Special Investigating Unit to investigate maladministration, improper conduct, and unlawful appropriation of public money at the Sapo. - Sapa